The Back Door

It was raining heavily that night. The town hadn’t seen such heavy downpour in years now. The girl was sitting alone near the dining table, peering out of the windows frequently. Her eyes showed that she was nervous. She looked at her watch. It was almost 8 and the night was darker than usual. The neighborhood that was normally lit up during the night-time was pitch black, thanks to the rains and the power failure. She went inside with the lighted candle, picked up the phone and started dialing a number for the seventh time that night. After a couple of minutes, she put down the receiver in despair and went to her seat to resume the waiting. The rain was refusing to retreat and continued its show of strength.

The air inside the house was heavy with anticipation and worry. She was waiting for her husband to reach, who should have been home by now. It was so scary outside, with the night getting darker and darker as seconds passed by. Raindrops were thumping against the window panes with a noise that would not have been uncomfortable any other day. She was getting restless with each passing moment. Then, to her relief, the phone rang. She rushed inside to answer the call and put the phone in speaker mode.

“Hello, Sam?”

“Hey, honey. I am sorry. I am sort of stuck here at the office. It would take a while before I can get out of this mess. Just have dinner and go to bed. Don’t wait for me. I might not even make it tonight”.

“But where are you planning to stay then?”

It’s fine, Angie. I will go to Seth’s place. It’s only a few minutes from here. I don’t think I can drive all the way home anyway. The roads are all fucked up.”

“Oh. You sure you are going to be safe, Sam?”

“Yeah baby. Make sure all the doors and windows are closed before you sleep.”

“Yeah, I will.”

“Right now.”

“I will do it. Don’t worry about me.”

“Angie, check everything right now. It’s for your own safety.”

“Okay, fine. The windows are all bolted.”

“And the doors?”

“Yes, they are.”

“The basement door?”

“Yes. For God’s sake Sam..”

“And the back door?”

She was getting annoyed.

“Sam, listen to me…”

“DO IT.”

“OKAY, whatever..”

The back door wasn’t locked.

“Errr…..yeah. It’s locked. Everything is fine. Now can you please go back and finish off everything and come fast?”

“Hmmm…yes. Stay safe. I will call you if I am coming early. Till then, whatever happens, stay inside.”

“Okay, honey. Bye.”

She hung up.

With only the light from the candles keeping her company, she had a quick dinner. After re checking if all windows and doors were locked, she blew off all the candles and went upstairs to her bedroom. Suddenly it was so dark. Even though the sounds outside were resonating in an eerie way, it was still so quiet inside.

Angie was sleeping upstairs, unaware that I had sneaked into her house through the back door which she wasn’t careful enough to lock beforehand. That I was hiding there the whole time and was going to take her life tonight.

After a few minutes, I came out of hiding, took out my dagger and began ascending the stairs.

Goodbye, Angie.

 

 

Leave a Reply

