The Night Shift

My family was having financial problems at home so I had started working after classes. I was at a pizza place before but last month they decided to fire me and a few others so that they could cut costs. So I had to find a new place.

It was then that I found this department store sort of place in the suburbs, almost an hour from my home. They were in need of salesmen to work during nights. And by nights I mean whole nights. Since I didn’t have much to do and since I could have the whole evening free, I took up the job.

The timings were from 9 PM till 4 in the morning. Even though the store had pretty decent sales during daytime, there were very few customers after 11. But since I was pretty much free otherwise and I was earning easy cash, I didn’t care much. Apparently, I was the third guy in two months to take up the job. The people before had left almost three weeks into their term. I didn’t get why someone would give up such an easy way to make money. Lack of sleep, maybe? I don’t know. And I didn’t bother questioning either.

And here’s me, sitting alone in the store at midnight, with a single light bulb for the whole room. I am so bored I have nothing to do except play with this fancy pen again and again and again.

“CLICK CLICK”

The only company I have are the numerous appliances, hardware and dolls around the room. And I am not talking about those cute and chubby teddy bears.

“CLICK CLICK”

Well, I don’t believe in ghosts, but now and then it does get creepy. Especially since this area is almost always deserted at night.

“CLICK CLICK”

There are no signs of any form of life out in the open too. I guess the clicking of the pen is the only thing that is going to keep me awake now.

“CLICK CLICK”

The light bulb that can’t illuminate the whole room only makes me more uncomfortable.

“CLICK CLICK”

It is almost 2 now. I guess I will have to find something to kill time so that I won’t…OH, SHIT! FML, I can’t believe I broke the only thing that was helping me stay awake. Well, let me see if I can get another pen. I’ll go check in the..”

“CLICK CLICK”

Leave a Reply

